new old me rings mail notes book design quizzes photos host

opening
6:18 p.m. - 11.06.02


so, the next night was friday: gallery opening night. i went by myself with tenative plans to go to the club to see Clint's band play, but nothing set in stone -- that's why it is so great to just go out with yourself sometimes.

the show was cool - the first room had photo illustrations by jamie kennedy. i loved the one with the typewriter in place of the guy's head. i contemplated that one for a while, while in the background i listened to 'you and whose army' by radiohead.

i walked into the main gallery and saw derek, my brother's friend spinning records. said hi to him and started looking at the art. cool stuff, they had sofas from the local vintage shop to match with corresponding paintings in the group show.

then i heard my name. it was my friend timothy.i've known tim since 1996 or '97 i think. i met him at another opening at a restaurant that has since been closed. tim was there with John. i always thought john was cool. i met john through tim almost a year ago. tim and john came together to see the jazz trio on fridays. john always looked good: italian, big beautiful brown eyes, and always looked at you when you had something to say.

bak at the gallery, we were having a great time. they asked me to come with them, to go to a surprise birthday at another club and then to another club afterwards. it was on.

when we were about ready to leave i saw mike, the guy from last week who asked for my number, and never called. i told him i was on my way out, and just said 'goodbye.'

i'm glad i went with timothy and john. i finally got to talk with john one-on-one. we wnt downstairs to the other lounge. he started asking me all kinds of questions about art and my train of thought. it seems that we have things in common. it seems like we communicate well. my dad left, his mom left. with the questions he was asking me about how it affected me emotionally, the conversation naturally developed into the confession that i was bi-polar. he just nodded. he said he knows he must be something like that, also. we talked aboput how that and our pasts reflect in our art. he then drew me a sketch of the drawing he's been working on. he's got his masters in art. i don't know which degree, specifically.

after the long conversation we went to the next club. two of his friends were there, so the five of us sat together. tony and tracey were very nice. we made plans for dinner on sunday at john's place.

the dinner party was great! toni and tracey are great. the food was great. tim couldn't make it because of work. tony and tracey brought a fabulous salad with fresh garden veggies, including jicama. i made baked beans for the second course. i only used 1/2 of a habenero and one tiny jalepeno, but man did it have some bite!!! i tried to add some extra honey to tone down the heat, but everyone seemed to like it, even though we did have to take some minor 'bread breaks' between bites.

the mail course was john's: fresh greens with swiss chard from tracy. he made them with pinto beans, black-eyed peas and zucinni. mmmmmmm!

tony and tracey left and john and i watched 'the usual suspects.' i love that movie. he's got lots of other cool movies too, like basquiat and amelie, but i thought usual suspects was best.

we ended the evening with a VERY nice, very long and sweet good-night kiss. mmmmmmm, he felt good to hold. real good. he likes the way i smell. he likes my lips. i like his neck. i felt good. i din't want to get too carried away - i know i am not ready for that emotionally yet, even though my hormones say yes, yes YES. so i hd to leave.

ok, that was sunday, john called me on MONDAY (yes, folks, the day after, how cool) to tell me he had a great time and wanting to know if i wanted to get together some time this week to help him finish up the left-overs. i said yes. i'm going to stop by tomorrow (thursday) after i storm the radio station with my friends (more on that later or in another entry).

last night i recorded with scott at abe's studio. that was awesome - more on that later.

tonight i called john. he asked me how it went and i told him and read my newest peom. he said he liked it. he asked me if i was still coming over tomorrow. i said yes.

i don't need any guarantees at all. it just seems cool that this guy called right away to make plans again. although, it is at his place again, so the posibility that he is going to try to get me in bed on the second try is still looming over my thoughts. if he is a cool enough guy, he will understand. kissing him and hugging him again will be cool with me, even whispering in his ear about his neck and his lips - that will be fun to do as long as it doesn't get out of hand. him whispering to me about my smell and my lips is nice too, but that's as far as i can go right now.

ahh - i could say more right now but i think i won't.

opening - 11.06.02

a> The current mood of nicegirl1207@hotmail.com at www.imood.com