new old me rings mail notes book design quizzes photos host

my 15 minutes
5:31 p.m. - 05.17.03


i really don't even know where to start - it's been so long since my last update,plus i've locked my diary. after some thought, and a rather strange new reader, i've decided to lock my words and only invite those people i can confide it.

first of all - this was my first real week of 'fame.' if you want to call it that. MOVE - the arts organization that i started with ken and geof - we were on the radio tuesday with groop - the two artists we represent (abe and mike). we did a great interview, plus we got some cool write ups in local zines. there were over 500 people there at the Formation show last night - 60 artists and musicians. it was definitely an extravaganza.

plus, i have been named Feature Poet of this year's 32nd annual Hessler Street Fair. i have a radio interview tomorrow at 12:30 and will be reading the 4 minning poems at 2:30. i am soooo excited.

i never won first place in anything in my life. i won second place in 7th grade aor reciting patrick henry's 'give me liberty or give me death' speech in a sppech tournament.

yes, it's been a while.

on of the publishers of one of the magazines said this about me:

"a voice imbued with experience, her words defy her years," Thomas Mulready, Cool Cleveland.

the contest organizer also said some great stuff about me:

(charlene coates), has won first place in the annual "?Say What?" Poetry Contest.

Coates will be named Feature Poet 2003 at the Hessler Street Fair in Cleveland, Ohio.

Coates will be interviewed at 12:30 p.m. Sunday, May 13 on WRUW 91.1 fm. Internet broadcast will be available at http://www.wruw.org/livefeed.php3.

She will perform her four winning poems live at 2:30 p.m. Sunday.

The ?Say What" Poetry Contest winner is announced every year at the Hessler Street Fair, a decades long Cleveland tradition of food, music, poetry and unity.

"Charlene had words which were exactly what we were looking for," said Lee Batdorff, contest organizer.

Speaking on her hints of anti-consumerism, "Her material is most appropriate for this kind of crowd." said Batdorff. "She hit it right between the eyes."

The ?Say What? Poetry Contest aims to encourage creativity to those 18 and under.

PLUS - a boy held my hand wed. night. i really have to talk aobut that one.

my 15 minutes - 05.17.03

a> The current mood of nicegirl1207@hotmail.com at www.imood.com