new old me rings mail notes book design quizzes photos host

good hair night and a wam coat
5:19 p.m. - 03.23.03


i got home late last night. it's been a while since i came home at 5 a.m. but, hanging out at dave's place last night,, well,, i just didn't get tired.

i got my hair done yesterday -- highlights and a cut. my friend works at a salon but she did it at her place. it looked great. it was 8 p.m. and i had full intentions to go home; but, i thought it best not to waste a good hair night.

i went to the tea house. ken and geof were there, quite a few others, i won't bother with all the names. tim was spinning jazz and allison joined us.

later in the evening, this really cute guy approached me as he was leaving. he touched my shoulder, whispered into my ear,

"good night to you, you lovely, beautiful woman, and of course i was too embarrassed to say anything until i left."

wow... wow, wow. i wonder if i'll ever see him again. man, i was flattered. i've been kind of down on myself lately because i've gained over 20 pounds in the past 2 years. i guess i should stop the pity-party.

ok, now about dave:

i've gotten to know dave through the tea house and the gallery. he's a photographer and shoots a lot of stuff when we have an opening. i've always thought he was cute. anyway we started talking. he showed me photos of last week's march on wahington. we started talking a lot about the war and stuff. we hold the similar view. i showed him a site that has printed a few of my poems. he really dug them. then, he invited me over his house with his other friends. the group i met all went to DC with him. they were all so cool. we sat around in dave's apartment listening to 60's vinyl - crosby stills and nash, jefferson airplane, etc.

dave smokes, but so did most of the 10 of us there in his tiny crib. we were smoking outside, then dave came out (prepared with a jacket). it got colder than we expected; all of us kind of waist turning and clutched arms from the chill. dave had come out 2 puffs aways from mine being done and me going inside. he was going inside too, and pulled his heavy pea coat off the peg and opened it for my arms. i went back outside.

everybody left around 2:30 - 3 a.m. i was getting my boots on and he whined 'ohh, everybody's leaving me.' so i thought that was a good cue to stick around. i told him that i'd stay a little longer and he said he's like that.

we talked and listened to music until about 4:30. i really had a good time. he showed me some more photographs he took at the lagoon at the art museum -- fantastic!! we are both 32, class of '89. we totally reminisced about 80's music - u2, rem, echo and the bunnymen, new order, the smiths, meat beat manifesto, and the church. he started telling me about the church's starfish album, just as i was telling him that my favorite t-shirt that i still have is a 'starfish tour 1988' shirt.

we sat most of the night on the futon with the ash tray between us. i went to the bathroom, cam back, and the ashtray was removed and the lights dimmed. i was too nervous to sit too close. i didn't want to get caught up in the moment, which was easily catchable. i couldn't beleive how much we had to talk about last night. he seems so well-rounded.

the best guys i like to date are ones who love art, the music i like, and are also liberal minded. i usually get lucky if i find a guy that is interested in one or two of them.

but all three?? that is so cool. i'm so psyched to talk with him again. ji just don't want to get caught up in the moment and pull down the jackpot lever - i have done so prematurely in the past - and that quick rush to judgement left me stuck with loser boyfriends.

when i mentioned that i had a 80's U2 import on vinyl that i never played becuse i don't have a turntable, he offered that i could come over again sometime and bring the platter. he asked for my phone number, said it was really cool to finally hang out with me, walked me to my car and gave me a nice long hug.

what a great night.

good hair night and a wam coat - 03.23.03

a> The current mood of nicegirl1207@hotmail.com at www.imood.com