new old me rings mail notes book design quizzes photos host

drugs, dad, meetings and new friends
10:00 p.m. - 08.27.02


today's activities made up for yesterday's lethargy. perhaps yesterday's rest made up for sunday's acrivities. who knows.

sunday was the first day i got up and took a shower before 10 in God knows how long. sue invited me to her dad's for the afternoon for her birthday. once sue left the room with her step mom, her dad told me how sue almost died a few months ago due to her drug use, and how he is happy that she has finally found a good friend in me. that felt good.

then, we went to the 4 o'clock meeting, which was a good one. talked to angela a little more and promised to call her tuesday (today). after the meeting Art, Allie, Bill and I had a fabulous dinner as planned. it was at alley's house with her husband. i made a corned beef/ruben casserole -- yummm. very very simple to make (if ya want the quick how-to just send me a note). art brought over London Broil. Bill made tofu 'meatless' balls with fresh, organic tomatoes and herbs from his garden. he also brought grilled veggies and brown rice. alley had greek salad, rolls, and fruit salad. i was in a total food coma and wanted to nap, but we had the other meeting to go to. the 9 o'clock meeting was good, too, as well as the ride there and back.

i really like these 3 people. i am so glad we are becoming friends. alley and i have a lot in common. she used to work in video and film; ironically, she has rented equipment from my old boyfriend, Dave, and her husband works for an old client of mine. freaky. i was openly and comfortably talking about my bipolar condition and the story about what happened to my dad. it's nice to tell your story without judgement and without disbelief. we know some other Nam vets in the program, and they have experienced similar tragedies.

when i tell them that my dad believed he was being followed to make sure he'd keep his mouth shut, they nod their heads in agreement and empathy and say 'he probably was.' so, i ask 'did our country really pump him up with drugs so he could perform his covert assasination duties mre viciously?'

and then they say 'how else could you do it?' or 'they did the same damn thing to me.'

Art also told me that night that i have a lot of good things to say, and he is glad i am in the fellowship. that really felt good too.

yesterday, i was so tired i literally slept all day. i woke at 11 a.m., then went back to sleep at noon. i didn't get up until 7 p.m. i went to sleep at 2 a.m. and got up today at noon. so i felt rested today. i helped grandma defrost the freezer and organized some papers and books in my room. i even found my gym pass and actually worked out tonoight. i'm really glad i found my pass. i really need to get in shape again. tomorrow i have an appointment with my psychiatrist and a morning meeting, plus a meeting with my attorney. things should go well tomorrow. i can't wait to work out again.

drugs, dad, meetings and new friends - 08.27.02

a> The current mood of nicegirl1207@hotmail.com at www.imood.com