new old me rings mail notes book design quizzes photos host

don't wake me up
9:48 p.m. - 03.15.03


i have been enjoying reliving last night again and again today.

i love these people i know, these friends i have. we are all thinking and all creating and all are in this together. it's been so wonderful to live right now.

the show was a smashing success. it was a glowing smooth sunset to ORANGE. kids were digging on the sliced oranges and loving that they were actually allowed to touch a sculpture. ken made a huge dish of orange cous cous with cilantro.

near the end scott set up the mike and abe set up about a dozen chairs inside the space. people started in as armenta and i did one last shuffle of papers. abe gave us a great intoduction and i started by thanking abe and mike of 'groop' (that is the name of their art collaborative and gallery space). then, i thanked dan, the artist, and the nicest smile of the bunch; he was kneeling down on one knee in the second row just smiling. i thanked him, then my partner ken in the back nodding his head in front of the rest of the crowd. there were a quite a few in the back. it was cool to see a crowd. ryan walked in and there was geof taking photos next to his sister. an old good friend of mine from college stopped in, i saw her last week, too. then, there was jessica - with her lime green vintage mini-dress, bettie paige haircut and crimson hair.

i read three and then introduced arminta. she was wonderful.

we had our after-party at an espresso bar down the street. nice jaz--funk group last night too. they had a xylophone even!!!

abe and i had a great conversation right before we went in. man, he has to be just about the best guy i've known since '94; and, the most talented, too. really.

man, the vibe was so on last night. everyone was walking around hugging eachother and patting ourselves on our backs. we all are doing cool stuff, and the enrgy is just non-stop.

dan and i talked a lot last night. he is so damn nice. he started putting his arm abound me a little. once after a half hug in the crowd of people, our hands went slowly down together, still touching. then, our fingers lingered, lightly locked, just for about an extra second. i wish i could say it was longer, but i was trying not to melt, so i'm not sure. i'm not sure if it was intentional on his part.

later on we really had a discussion about my readings and my writing in general. man, he remembers the stuff and tells me that it makes him think and feel things. he showed my honey dripper poem to his mom. he told me that when he was passing around the invitation with my poem about ORANGE on it he said that people were asking who i was and he proudly told them. he smiled again. a nice, long smile. i could have spent days there.

later, we sat real close. i took my glasses off. we talked he tried my glasses on - i tried his on and got dizzy. we talked and his hand was touching mine and he started holding it for i guess 4 seconds, then someone came over and i let go. we talked more and he told me that i look real good with my glasses on, but i look pretty with my glasses off. i have nice eyes, he says.

we walekd me to my car, and i drove him to his. he told me he had a nice time hanging out with me as he leaned over and kissed my cheek and we hugged.

ok, so did that really happen last night? is it as promising as i hope it might be. i'm all for patience and just letting things go. i got all the time in the world.

i just don't want to wake up.

don't wake me up - 03.15.03

a> The current mood of nicegirl1207@hotmail.com at www.imood.com