new old me rings mail notes book design quizzes photos host

can i be like my cat
2:14 p.m. - 05.16.02


i always have fleeting thoughts -- just one sentence or two - when i'm sitting here all day.

this is an attempt to jot down sudden impulses and thoughts. i'm pretty good at 'stream of concious' writing, even though it's a grammatical nightmare, but pledging myself to write this as a 'note' entry instead of a 'regular' entry is a challenge. i don't know why.

i'm thinking about a lot of things right now - dave, the dreams i've been having, and my cat.

my cat is the only comforting thing of the above mentioned. i got her 2 summers ago. at that time, i had just moved to the other side of town - away from chris. i had just officially quit my job at the magazine, after a month's leave of absence. one of the editors became a friend of mine there and gave me the cat after i left. his girlfriend works at the art museum and found a 6 month-old mama cat with 2 kittens. they kept the kittens and gave me the young mother.

i found identity in my cat. the poor girl went through a lot in her short life. just by looking at her, you know she was in a few scraps. she is blind in one eye and missing a fang. i always wonder what happened to her: if she was alone at the time or was she protecting her kittens? i was never a cat person, yet i was so intrigued by her past. she survived. she survived with two kids on the street - alot like my mom. she was hurt and attacked and she still walks tall - like mom and me. mom and brother's dalmation is afraid of her. she has no front claws, 3 (instead of 4)fangs, a blind eye - and she's still a scrapper.

ok - that's my maya thoughts for now.

can i be like my cat - 05.16.02

a> The current mood of nicegirl1207@hotmail.com at www.imood.com