new old me rings mail notes book design quizzes photos host

driving with the breaks on
12:18 a.m. - 10.08.02


i'm listening to a Del Amitri cd right now: "twisted." i'm inspited by this CD tonight. i pulled it out of my 'old collection' a few days ago but never played it. i don't know exactly why. i was intrigued, but not in the EXACT mood i guess,,,, it's full of either 'boppy' tunes or love songs. i didn't have a mood to fit either.

Del amitri wasn't even very popular over here in the states when I considered them popular. "Twisted" is the last CD i bought from them - in 1995, and i think i saw them for the last time in 1996.

however, i heard them in the grocery store tonight. yes, THE GROCERY STORE, or, should i say the SUPER-DUPER MARKET: the size of 10 football fields. i was suprised that i started to hear one of my favorite songs by them: 'Driving With the Brakes On.'

I love shopping at night - no one is there, i guess that is one of the lusuries in the states that i cherish. however, i kept running into this tall, well-built red-haired guy that smiled at me when we both parked across from eachother in the lot. i was walking to the checkout, the song was playing and i was thinking that i now had to play this Cd when i got home. then he said 'hey, kid.' (funny, i just watched arlo guthrie's 'alice's restaurant' last night -- hey, kid) i stopped and said 'you'd be surprised, but i'm not a kid.' he asked how old i was and i told him 31. we talked for a little while, he said he went to my same high school - 3 yrs before me. he asked me for my name, his name is darryl or darren (i forget). he asked me for my last name and i wouldn't give it to him. we left at the same time, then he said good bye across the lane at the parking lot. he had 2 crates of 'leftover' bannanas, which was for his sister, he said, because she ran an animal sanctuary or something --- i don't remember -- i was kind of nervous.

yes, he was way cute, but my best interest told me not to pursue anything; although, i did have a feeling inside that he was a genuinely a nice guy. i just couldn't take that step.

i don't know why i even wrote this down - i have no conclusion for it. was it an ego-boost? yes, in a way. was it scary? yes, in a small way. in a wierd way, i'd just rather have the song and the memory. it's easier and safer that way.

driving with the breaks on - 10.08.02

a> The current mood of nicegirl1207@hotmail.com at www.imood.com