new old me rings mail notes book design quizzes photos host

auld lang sye
11:54 p.m. - 12.18.02


i'm eating Christmas cookies, drinking vanilla soymilk, and listening to Mazzy Star. i just came back from meeting laura at the wine bar. she got into town last night from the music school. she plays the clarinet and getting her PHd in musicology. Bud is coming into town from NYC at 4. Bud, Ken and I are invited to a holiday party hosted by one of the magazines i used to work for. i'm still good friends with the associate publisher. i saw her a few weeks ago and told her about my new business venture with Ken. she says she can't wait to hear more. i'm picking the guys up aorund 6. the dinner and festivities officially end at 9, but we are welcome to stay at the club for some opening party for a locally-produced indie film. that leaves a small possibility that Dave (my old boyfriend) could be there. i can't even speculate; and besides, i already saw him on halloween and it was fine. i was fine. and that's the most important.

it was awesome to see laura tonight. i haven't been to the wine bar since she has been in town. it was kind of nice that i 'reserved' that for us.

laura has placed me in a New Year's quandry. she has invited me down to cincinnati for a no-holds-barred black-tie cocktail party at her new house. it sounds great. leslie already has an extra hotel room booked, so i'm guaranteed my own bed, not a floor. but .... my fave music club --- the one i used to work at ---- is having a KILLER show. EVERYONE is going to be there. jessica is already planning cab service and brunch the next day.

i will definitely do one or the other. last year i stayed home. mom showed up at 11:45 after her shift and grandma and mom and i said happy new year and went to bed.

i want to have a good new year's this year because i found out that my great, great, great uncle wrote AULD LANG SYE. i found this out when my dad died. i got back in touch with his 2 brothers and they told me. pretty cool. i'm relate to Robert Burns - the national poet of scotland.

auld lang sye - 12.18.02

a> The current mood of nicegirl1207@hotmail.com at www.imood.com